2020/2021 Committee
Committee Profiles

Mike Binns

I’m currently Water and Wastewater Operations Manager at Matamata-Piako District Council. I started off in the water industry in 2003 back in Chesterfield, UK. I was a 16 year old apprentice in the wastewater treatment team for South Yorkshire.

I spent 6 years with Yorkshire Water before taking a career break and heading overseas. Upon returning to the UK I worked for Severn Trent Water in Nottinghamshire as an O&M Technician.

In 2014 I was poached and brought over to NZ by Capacity (now Wellington Water). I was an operator in the wastewater team for Porirua and after a year became the Team Leader.

I moved from Wellington Water in 2017 and took on the Wastewater Treatment Coordinator role for New Plymouth District Council. In 2020 I took the step over to Matamata-Piako District Council into my current role.

Throughout my career I’ve focused on developing my problem solving skills and leadership abilities as this is what I enjoy and thrive on.

Dion Glenie              

I have been involved in the water industry for the last 10 years, and passionate about the water industry and what it has to offer. In that time I have worked for Waimate District Council (WDC) as a Water and Waste Operator, and in 2018 took on the Utilities Supervisors role.

Currently I supervise a small team of five Water and Waste Operators in the WDCs Utilities/Asset Group. We operate and maintain seven water schemes (one urban, and six rural supplies) both treatment plants and reticulation, and one urban sewer network with treatment.

Being on the WIOG committee I want to give something back to this great organisation and the water industry. I am advocate for ongoing training, workshops, and encouraging networking amongst all WIOG members.

Josh McIndoe

I was lucky enough to be voted onto the WIOG committee at the 2019 Christchurch conference and have enjoyed being a busy committee member over last two years.  I have been involved with organising numerous regional workshops, conference paper portfolio, IXOM water taste test, Facebook updates and taken it upon myself to get the Kiwi Clarifier rolling out more regularly, as well as the day to day duties of being a committee member entails.

I have been activity involved with WIOG for over 10 years attending conferences and events.  I have enjoyed the challenge of presenting 2 papers at conferences. 

I have spent my whole career until early 2021 at PNCC and have in April moved to work at Waimakariri District Council as the Water Unit Manager. I am a registered onsite assessor for Connexis for the level 4 water and wastewater qualifications which I enjoy doing, and am WIPA registered.

The future for WIOG – I want to see more engagement throughout the year with members.  As a committee we want to deliver what our membership wants and things that will benefit the industry.  I would also like to see more focus and involvement with the reticulation aspect of 3 waters operations.

Nick Hewer-Hewitt


Wellington Water


Craig Hiddleston

Executive Officer

Kapiti Coast District Council


Bruce Nesbitt


Kapiti Coast District Council

Richard Kruse




Josh McIndoe


Waimakariri District Council


Mark Proctor


Timaru District Council


Executive Officers, Chairpersons, and Committee members past and present.


  • Dave Neru (2006 - 2012)
  • John Clemens (2012 - 2016)
  • Craig Hiddleston (2016 - )


  • Stu Craib 2006 - (2008)
  • Martyn Simpson (2008 - 2013)
  • Mike Monaghan (2013 - 2017)
  • Nick Hewer-Hewitt (2017 - )

Committee members

  • Les Collins (2006 - 2008)
  • Martyn Simpson (2006 - 2017)
  • John Clemens (2006 - 2012)
  • Mike Monaghan (2008 - 2017)
  • Nigel Hesford (2008 - 2020 )
  • Damian Lawsen (2011 - 2018)
  • Stu Craib (2006 - 2015)
  • Murray Clayton (2006 - 2019)
  • Greg Gordon (2011 - 2013)
  • Nick Hewer-Hewitt (2013 - )
  • Tony Ochsner (2015 - 2019 )
  • Bruce Nesbitt (2017 - )
  • Richard Kruse (2017 - )
  • Mark Proctor  (2019 -  )
  • Joshua McIndoe  (2019 -  )
  • Alison Young (2020 -  )
  • Dion Glenie  (2020 -  )

© 2022 WIOG | Terms & Conditions
Powered by Rainbow Creative | 28 Sep 2022 | Admin