Chairman's message

Hi all,

I would like to start my first message as your new Chairperson by thanking all those people who supported our May conference. We had our second highest number of attendees since WIOG was established. To all those who attended, I would like to thank you all on behalf of the committee. I would also like to thank our sponsors and suppliers for contributing their time and efforts, without which we wouldn't of been able to hold such a successful conference.

I also need to thank the Committee for organising a well-run conference. The conference is organised and run by this team of volunteers who spend quite a bit of their time hunting down venues, chasing people for papers, working with sponsors and equipment suppliers, and securing industry partners. Obviously this all couldn't be done without the support of the employers of the committee members, so a big thanks to them as well.

One of the more pleasing conference statistics was that our programme included no less than 10 operator papers. The subjects presented were wide ranging and included topics around new innovation, optimising existing processes, and also reticulation resilience. All of these papers had an operations focus to them which tells me that our members are keen to share what's happening at their sites, new ideas, and interesting experiences..

At the AGM we sadly farewelled two stalwarts of the Group, Mike Monaghan and Martyn Simpson. Both have served the Group selflessly for many years. As such it was especially poignant that Marty, an original committee member, was presented the WIOG Life Membership award in recognition for his contribution to the Group, at the conference dinner.

One final note, during the conference the Water Industry Professionals Association (WIPA) was launched. This is a joint initiative between WIOG and Water NZ and was set up to ensure that our operations people are not only qualified, but are also maintaining ongoing professional competency though the programme’s certification process. Connexis have been contracted to provide administrative support and to maintain the WIPA database. For more information please check out

Thanks again to everyone who supported the conference in one way or another. Next year’s conference planning has already started and the venue is in Palmerston North over the period 09 -11 May 2018. I look forward to seeing you all there. Regards,

Nick Hewer-Hewitt

Executive Officer & Committee Contacts



Company Represented




Nick Hewer-Hewitt

Wellington Water

Mob: 027 434 8839

Executive Officer

Craig Hiddleston

Cardno NZ Ltd

Mob: 021 898 025


Murray Clayton

Kaimai Valley Services

Mob: 0274 730 475

07 88 48372


Nigel Hesford 


Mob: 027 632 6322


Tony Ochsner

Wellington Water

Mob: 021 817 282


 Bruce Nesbitt

Kapiiti Coast District Council

 027 5555 762


Richard Kruse

Taupo District Council

027 470 1011

Executive Officers, Chairpersons, and Committee members past and present.


  • Dave Neru (2006 - 2012)
  • John Clemens (2012 - 2016)
  • Craig Hiddleston (2016 - )


  • Stu Craib 2006 - (2008)
  • Martyn Simpson (2008 - 2013)
  • Mike Monaghan (2013 - 2017)
  • Nick Hewer-Hewitt (2017 - )

Committee members

  • Les Collins (2006 - 2008)
  • Martyn Simpson (2006 - 2017)
  • John Clemens (2006 - 2012)
  • Mike Monaghan (2008 - 2017)
  • Nigel Hesford (2008 - )
  • Damian Lawsen (2011 - )
  • Stu Craib (2006 - 2015)
  • Murray Clayton (2006 - )
  • Greg Gordon (2011 - 2013)
  • Nick Hewer-Hewitt (2013 - )
  • Tony Ochsner (2015 - )
  • Bruce Nesbitt (2017 - )
  • Richard Kruse (2017 - )

© 2018 WIOG | Terms & Conditions
Powered by Rainbow Creative | 24 Jun 2018 | Admin