Te Oranga Wai Prize

Te Oranga Wai sponsored by

WIOG has a vision of promoting education, interaction and information sharing within the water industry. Our goals include: Provision of opportunities for the recognition of individual achievements of both Members and other practitioners employed in the water industry; to be actively involved in the development, implementation and promotion of knowledge and experience to the industry; and improving either workplace efficiencies or imparting knowledge and skills on to others in less fortunate cultures to improve living standards.


This is an opportunity to share your innovative ideas with other Members. Applications for the Te Oranga Wai Prize are now open. No prerequisite exists, just a drive for self- improvement or improvement of the wider water industry.

This award is open to all current individual WIOG Members. Corporate Supporters are not eligible however individual Members employed by Corporate Supporters may apply.




Applicants are asked to submit a report on one of the following:

[written or recorded (audio and/or video) materials will be accepted]


  1. A project related to the New Zealand water or wastewater industries and provide details on how the project could benefit the industry (ideas need not be limited to treatment plants but can be ideas based on education, community awareness, human resources, research etc); or

  2. Ways in which you have personally contributed to the community through your work experience etc, within the water or wastewater industries and provide details how this could be applied to help improve the water or wastewater system in a developing country.


The Prize: to be awarded annually, with a value of up to $5,000 to the most outstanding Applicant.  The Prize recipient and the activity undertaken will be recognised at the WIOG Annual Conference and in various water industry publications.

2017 Prize winner

Kathryn Russell, CDHB,  being presented by Alison Young from Sponsor, Thermofisher,  with the Te Oranga Wai prize.

Te Oranga Wai prize winners

  • John Clemens (2008)
  • Ken Jones (2009)
  • Bruce Nesbitt (2010)
  • CityCare, Sicon, and Waimakariri DC (2011)
  • Ben Wood (2012)
  • Damian Lawsen (2014)
  • Alan "Sonny" Nesbit (2015)
  • Raelyn Rika (2016)
  • Kathryn Russell (2017)

© 2019 WIOG | Terms & Conditions
Powered by Rainbow Creative | 22 Oct 2019 | Admin